Committee on Education

The Committee on Education is responsible for all matters related to public education, including authorizing public charter schools, but not including matters exclusively within the University of the District of Columbia or the Community College of the District of Columbia; truancy (jointly with the Committee of the Whole); and public libraries.

Key Staff

Akeem Anderson

Ashley Strange

Christa Pluff

Agencies Under This Committee

  • Advisory Committee on Community Use of Public Space
  • Bullying Prevention Task Force
  • Commission on Out of School Time Grants and Youth Outcomes
  • Common Lottery Board
  • Community Schools Advisory Committee
  • District of Columbia Educational Opportunity for Military Children State Council
  • District of Columbia Public Charter School Board
  • District of Columbia Public Library System
  • District of Columbia Public Library Trust Fund
  • District of Columbia Public Schools
  • District of Columbia State Athletics Commission
  • Education Licensure Commission
  • Healthy Youth and Schools Commission
  • Higher Education Licensure Commission
  • Interagency Coordinating Council
  • Office of the Deputy Mayor for Education
  • Office of the Ombudsman for Public Education
  • Office of the State Superintendent of Education (including Advisory Panel on Special Education, Early Childhood Development Coordinating Council)
  • Office of the Student Advocate
  • Office of Out of School Time Grants and Youth Outcomes
  • Our Schools Leadership Committee
  • Public Charter School Credit Enhancement Fund Committee
  • State Board of Education