committee

Committee of the Whole

The Chairman of the Council is the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole (COW), and all Councilmembers are part of the committee.

Show more

COW meets on the third Tuesday of each month, except during periods of Council recess, to consider measures pending in the committee and measures which have been reported and filed by other committees. During COW meetings, bills can also be introduced and referred to other committees.

Each bill and resolution reported by Council legislative committees are referred to COW to make sure the legislation is legally sufficient and complies with Council rules, and that its fiscal impact statement is sound.

Collapse

Key Staff

Evan Cash

ecash@dccouncil.us
(202)724-7002

Christina Setlow

csetlow@dccouncil.us
(202)724-4865

Blaine Stum

bstum@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8092

Julia Koster

jkoster@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-7130

LeKisha Jordan

ljordan@dccouncil.us
(202) 724-8137

Destiny Price

dprice@dccouncil.us
(202)724-8196

Agencies Under This Committee

  • Board for the Condemnation of Insanitary Buildings
  • Board of Industrial Trades
  • Board of Zoning Adjustment
  • Commemorative Works Committee
  • Commission on the Arts and Humanities
  • Community College of the District of Columbia
  • Community College Transition to Independence Advisory Board
  • Construction Codes Coordinating Board
  • Council of the District of Columbia
  • Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs
  • District of Columbia Auditor
  • District of Columbia Retirement Board, including the District of Columbia Police Officers and Fire Fighters’ Retirement Fund and the Teachers’ Retirement Fund
  • District Retiree Health Contribution
  • Events DC
  • Historic Preservation Review Board
  • Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission
  • Law Revision Commission
  • Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
  • Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
  • National Capital Planning Commission
  • New Columbia Statehood Commission
  • Office of Budget and Planning
  • Office of Planning
  • Office of the Statehood Delegation
  • Office of Zoning
  • Other Post-Employment Benefits Fund Advisory Committee
  • Tax Revision Commission
  • Tobacco Settlement Financing Corporation
  • University of the District of Columbia
  • Zoning Commission