Office of the General Counsel

Under the Council’s Rules, the General Counsel is responsible for advising the Council on matters involving its legislative activities, powers and procedures, providing members with alternatives in terms of policy options to solve legislative problems, representing the Council in any legal action to which it is a party, supervising the publication of the District of Columbia Official Code, making legislative drafting assistance available to all members, engrossing and enrolling measures, and making necessary technical and conforming changes in measures during enrollment, and advising on matters of parliamentary procedure.

Hours:

Monday – Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m

Contact Information

Phone: (202) 724-8026

Fax: (202) 724-8129

Office Location

1350 Pennsylvania Ave, NW

John A. Wilson Building, Suite 4

Washington, DC 20004

Location of Office of the General Counsel

Staff

Ellen Efros

General Counsel

eefros@dccouncil.us

John R. Hoellen

Deputy General Counsel/Legislative Counsel

jhoellen@dccouncil.us

Benjamin F. Bryant

Codification Counsel

bbryant@dccouncil.us

Kay Westcott

Assistant General Counsel

kwestcott@dccouncil.us

Karen Barbour

Codification/Legislative Assistant

kbarbour@dccouncil.us

Rebecca Katz

Assistant General Counsel

rkatz@dccouncil.us

Manasi Venkatesh

Assistant General Counsel

mvenkatesh@dccouncil.us

Ada Arrington

Secretary to the General Counsel

aarrington@dccouncil.us

Zach M. Walter

Assistant General Counsel

zwalter@dccouncil.us

Daniel P. Golden

Assistant General Counsel

dgolden@dccouncil.us