Committee on Transportation and the Environment

Committee Chair

Mary M. Cheh

Description

The Committee on the Transportation and the Environment is responsible for matters relating to environmental protection regulation and policies; highways, bridges, traffic, vehicles, and other transportation issues; the regulation of taxicabs; maintenance of public spaces; recycling; waste management; water supply and wastewater treatment; and maintenance of public spaces and public parks and recreation.

Staff

Drew Newman

Committee Director

(202) 724-8062

anewman@dccouncil.us

Anthony Catalino

Senior Legislative Counsel

(202) 724-8062

acatalino@dccouncil.us

Nicole Rentz

Legislative Counsel

(202) 724-8062

nrentz@dccouncil.us

Michele Blackwell

Legislative Counsel

(202) 724-8062

mblackwell@dccouncil.us

Megan E. Brown

Legislative Fellow

(202)-724-8062

mebrown@dccouncil.us

Adam Gutbezahl

Legislative Fellow

(202) 724-8062

agutbezahl@dccouncil.us

Agencies under the Committee on Transportation and the Environment

  • Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Department of Parks and Recreation
  • Department of Public Works
  • District Department of the Environment
  • District Department of Transportation
  • District of Columbia Bicycle Advisory Council
  • District of Columbia Taxicab Commission
  • Environmental Planning Commission
  • Green Buildings Advisory Council
  • Pedestrian Advisory Council
  • Recreation Assistance Board
  • Soil and Water Conservation District
  • Streetcar Financing and Governance Task Force
  • Sustainable Energy Utility Advisory Board
  • Washington Aqueduct *
  • Water and Sewer Authority

* This entity is a federal agency or regional body.  As such, the Committee does not have direct oversight but, rather, serves as a liaison for the Council in relations to this entity.