Committee on Education

Committee Chair

David Catania


The Committee on Education is responsible for all matters related to public education, including authorizing public charter schools, but not including matters exclusively within the University of the District of Columbia or the Community College of the District of Columbia; truancy (jointly with the Committee of the Whole); and public libraries.


Erika Wadlington

Committee Director

Jordan Hutchinson

Senior Counsel

Jamal Jordan

Community Engagement Specialist

Marissa McKeever

Legislative Assistant

Kevin Lang

Policy Analyst

Agencies under the Committee on Education

  • Bullying Prevention Task Force
  • District of Columbia Public Charter School Board
  • District of Columbia Public Library system
  • District of Columbia Public Schools
  • Education Licensure Commission
  • Healthy Youth and Schools Commission
  • Office of the State Superintendent of Education (including Advisory Panel on Special Education, Early Childhood Development Coordinating Council, Non-Public Tuition, Special Education Transportation)
  • Office of the Deputy Mayor for Education
  • State Board of Education
  • Public Charter School Credit Enhancement Fund Committee