Committee of the Whole

Committee Chair

Chairman Phil Mendelson


The Chairman of the Council is the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole (COW), and all Councilmembers are part of the committee.  COW meets on the third Tuesday of each month, except during periods of Council recess, to consider measures pending in the committee and measures which have been reported and filed by other committees. During COW meetings, bills can also be introduced and referred to other committees.

Each bill and resolution reported by Council legislative committees are referred to COW to make sure the legislation is legally sufficient and complies with Council rules, and that its fiscal impact statement is sound.


Evan Cash

Committee and Legislative Director

(202) 724-7002

Christina Setlow

Deputy Committee Director

(202) 724-4865

Randi Powell

Legislative Policy Advisor

(202) 724-8092

Sydney Hawthorne

Legislative Counsel

(202) 724-7130

Committee of the Whole

Main Phone Number

(202) 724-8196

Agencies under the Committee of the Whole

  • Council of the District of Columbia
  • District of Columbia Auditor
  • Board of Zoning Adjustment
  • Commemorative Works Committee
  • Community College of the District of Columbia
  • Community College Transition to Independence Advisory Board
  • Contract Appeals Board
  • Department of Human Resources
  • Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development
  • District of Columbia Retirement Board, including the District of Columbia Police Officers and Fire Fighters' Retirement Fund and the Teachers' Retirement Fund
  • Executive Office of the Mayor, including the Office of Policy and Legislative Affairs, Serve DC, and the Office of Community Affairs
  • Historic Preservation Review Board
  • Interagency Council on Homelessness
  • Labor/Management Partnership Council
  • Law Revision Commission
  • Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority *
  • Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments *
  • National Capital Planning Commission *
  • New Columbia Statehood Commission
  • Office of Budget and Planning
  • Office of Contracting and Procurement
  • Office of Employee Appeals
  • Office of Labor Relations and Collective Bargaining
  • Office of Planning
  • Office of Public-Private Partnerships
  • Office of the Chief Technology Officer
  • Office of the City Administrator
  • Office of the Statehood Delegation
  • Office of Zoning
  • Public Employees Relations Board
  • Secretary of the District of Columbia
  • Tax Revision Commission
  • Tobacco Settlement Financing Corporation
  • University of the District of Columbia
  • Walter Reed Army Medical Center Site Reuse Advisory Committee
  • Zoning Commission of the District of Columbia

* This entity is a federal agency or regional body.  As such, the Committee does not have direct oversight but, rather, serves as a liaison for the Council in relations to this entity.